Latest News

Amanda Bowman wins ASMS Graduate Student Award

Congratulations to Amanda Bowman, Ph.D. student with Dr. Verbeck, for winning the 2015 ASMS (American Society of Mass Spectrometry) Graduate Student Award.  The award will be presented during the ASMS 2015 conference in St. Louis, MO.

The ASMS Graduate Student Award recognizes graduate students whose academic achievements and current mass spectrometry research display a high level of excellence and distinction.

Read more »

Dr. Angela K. Wison wins ACS Awards

Congratulations to Dr. Angela K. Wilson who recently won the following awards:

2015 Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal of the American Chemical Society.  - This award is to recognize distinguished service to chemistry by women chemists.  Log on to for more information.

2014 Wilfred T. Doherty Award of the Dallas-Ft. Worth Section of the American Chemical Society,  This award is given for excellence in chemical research or chemistry teaching, meritorious service to ACS, establishment of new chemical industry, solution of pollution problems, and advances in curative or preventive chemotherapy.    Learn more at:

Read more »

Dr. Verbeck wins 2014 Teacher Scholar Award

Congratulations to Dr. Guido Verbeck, IV who won a 2014 Teacher Scholar Award. See for more details.

Read more »

Dr. Omary wins a 2014 Dintinguished Research Professor Award

Congratulations to Dr. Mohammad Omary who won a 2014 Distinguished Research Professor Award. See for more details.

Read more »

Casey Thurber wins poster presentation at SAMPE Symposium

Congratulations to Casey Thurber, Ph.D. student with Dr. Golden, who won 1st place in the poster presentations on Thursday, April 10 at the SAMPE (Society for Advancement of Materials and Process Engineering)  2014 Technical Symposium and Materials Expo.  His title was "Ni-Mo and Cu-Ni Nanocomposite Coatings for High-Temperature and Microbial Induced Corrosion"

Read more »

Undergraduate Chemistry major, Cliff Morrison, featured in UNT's Research Magazine

Robby Petros, assistant professor of chemistry, told Clifford Morrison that if his research didn’t go the way he thought it would, he could learn from it. In fact, they may have stumbled on a molecule that could help develop other drugs.

“We just opened the door for something new and exciting,” says Morrison, a senior majoring in chemistry and biochemistry.  Check out the rest of the article:

Read more »

Senior undergraduate Clifford Morrison, was recently featured in the In-House Magazine.

Senior undergraduate Clifford Morrison, was recently featured in the UNT In-House Magazine. Cliff's research with Dr. Petros involves investigating new strategies for targeted drug delivery in pancreatic cancer patients.  Cliff is a McNair Scholar, Emerald Scholar and in the Honors College.

Check out the entire article:

Read more »