The synthesis, characterization, and utilization of novel materials occupy a central role in modern science and technology. Materials chemistry is a highly interdisciplinary endeavor, which is exemplified by the diversity of our faculty conducting research in the field.

Graduate Program

Ph.D. and M.Sc. degrees in analytical, inorganic, organic and physical chemistry with concentrations in chemistry education, computational chemistry, organometallic and materials chemistry. Read More


Consistently named a
CAS Superior Performing Department, with distinguished faculty and professional staff

See our faculty and staff directory

NSF-REU Program

Summer 2014 program runs June 2-August 8, 2014

A 10-week program that includes hands-on research experience, tours to local companies, and leadership seminars led by former executives of major international chemical companies.  Read more about the NSF-REU program

Recent Ph.D. Recipients

Dr. Keith Haynes (Youngblood) successfully defended his dissertation “Molecules and Materials for Excitonic Solar Cells Using P-Type Metal Oxide Semiconductors” on Thursday, May 21.

Dr. Robinson James (Kelber) successfully defended his dissertation “Novel Carborane Derived Semiconducting Thin Films for Neutron Detection and Device Applications” on Friday, May 8.

Dr. Dale Pahls (Cundari) successfully defended his dissertation “Pathways for C-H Aetivation and Functionalization by Group 9 Metals” on Thursday, March 26.

Dr. Daniel Pardue (Cundari) successfully defended his dissertation “Computational Studies of C-H/C-C Manipulation Utilizing Transition Metal Complexes” on Wednesday, March 11.

  Dr. Brandall Ingle (Cundari) successfully defended her dissertation “The mechanisms of human glutathione synthetase & related non-enzymatic catalysis” on Monday, March 9.

Dr. Marco Rodriguez Lopez (Youngblood) successfully defended his dissertation “Synthesis of Peropyrene and Tetracene Derivatives for Photochemical Application” on Thursday, February 19.

Dr. Amanda Riojas (Wilson) successfully defended her dissertation “Application of the correlation consistent Composite Approach to Biological Systems and Noncovalent Interactions” on Tuesday, December 2.

Dr. Sundari Pokharel (Youngblood) successfully defended her dissertation "Synthesis of Novel Organic Chromophores and Their Characterization" on Tuesday, October 21.

Current student Robyn L. Ford, published by the ACS Division of Chemical Education in June 2015 edition

Robyn L. Ford, Ph.D. student of Dr. Diana Mason, was published with Timothy Stephens, Ph.D.(2014) and Annda George in the ACS book Ethanol and Education: Alcohol as a Theme for Teaching Chemistry.  Their chapter is No. 12: Chemical profile of Texas Vodka.

Their chapter along with the entire publication may be found here.

Read more »

Alesha Harris, Ph.D., (2014) awarded post-doctoral position at Brookhaven National Laboratory

Alesha Harris, Ph.D. (2014), former student of Dr. Rob Petros, was awarded a post-doctoral position at the Brookhaven National Laboratory in New York.  Click here for more information about the Brookhaven National Lab.

Read more »

Alexis Morris receieved Honorable Mention in the Ford Foundation Fellowship Program

Alexis Morris was accorded Honorable Mention by the Ford Foundation for her submission to the Predoctoral Fellowship program.  The program is administered by the National Research Council of National Academies and only 116 awards were given in 2015.

For more information on her award or the Ford Foundation Program competition, visit the Ford Foundation.

Read more »

Mandy S. Phelps and Vivian Huynh featured on the cover of the May 2015 edition of Analytical Methods

Congratulations to Mandy S. Phelps, Ph.D student with Dr. Guido Verbeck, for co-authoring "A lipidomics demonstration of the importance of single cell analysis" featured on the cover of the May 2015 edition of Analytical Methods.  Vivian Huynh, Ph.D. student of Dr. Teresa Golden, created the cover artwork to accompany the article.  

Read more »

Chemistry Ph.D. students win in the Toulouse Graduate School 2015 Graduate Exhibition

Congratulations to the following students who placed in the Toulouse Graduate School 2013 Graduate Exhibition held on Saturday, March 7, 2015:

Physical and Mathematical Sciences Category:

     First Place: Casey Thurber (Golden)
     Second Place: Phillip Mach (Verbeck) & John Pearson (Wilson)
     Third Place: Vivian Huynh (Golden) & Rebecca Weber (Wilson)

The full list of winners can be found at: http://tsgs.unt.edu/exhibition/2015-winners

Read more »

Student Resources

The Fall 2015 New Graduate Student Orientation Schedule is now available (pdf).  Schedule is tentative.  Please check back for updates (last updated 07/09/15).

The Chemistry Resource Center (CRC) is a free tutoring lab available for students enrolled in chemistry classes.  More information can be found at: http://chemistry.unt.edu/undergraduate-program/instructional-resourcesThe Spring 2015 schedule is now available. (pdf)  (updated 2/12/15).

The Computational Chemistry Instructional Laboratory (CCIL) provides computer access to all undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in UNT chemistry courses. CCIL is NOT a General access lab: http://chemistry.unt.edu/undergraduate-program/instructional-resources.  Spring 2014 schedule is now available (pdf) (updated 1/30/14)

Alpha Chi Sigma (AXΣ) - professional chemistry fraternity

Seminar Schedules

Spring 2015 Seminar Schedule (pdf) (invited speakers) (updated 03/23/15)