University of North Texas Forensic Science Program
Contact Us Link

Group Alumni

PhD Students
2003 - Qi Wang (Anodic Electrochemical Synthesis and Characterization of Cerium Oxide and Cerium Oxide/Montmorillonite Nanocomposites). (Brookhaven National Laboratory)

2004 - Charoendee Pingsuthiwong (Investigation of the Structure and Properties of Diamond-Like Carbon Films Deposited Electrochemically at Low Temperatures). (DEA, Thailand)

2005 - Chen Wang (The Revival of Electrochemistry: Electrochemical Deposition of Metals in Semiconductor Related Research). (BASF)

2006 - Qiuhua Yuan (Electrochemical Synthesis and Characterization of Inorganic Materials from Aqueous Solutions). (Professor of Chemistry, China)

2011 - William Griffith (The Development of an Analytical Microwave Electromagnetic Pulse Transmission Probe and Preliminary Test Results).

2012 - Vallerie DeLeon (Investigation of Novel Electrochemical Synthesis of Bioapatites and Use in Elemental Bone Analysis). (Owner, TEXAYLab)

2012 - James Davis (Development of a Laponite Pluronic Composite for Foaming Applications). (Researcher Alcon Laboratories) 

2013 - Heidi Conrad (Electrochemical Deposited Metal Alloy-Silicate Nanocomposite Corrosion Resisitance Materials). (Professor,TCU)

2014 -Josey Tientong (Nickel and Nickel Alloy Coating with Layered Silicates for Enhanced Corrosion Resistance). (Professor, Thailand)

2015 - Michael Kahl (Electrochemical Synthesis and Applications of Layered Double Hydroxides and Derivatives). 

2016 - Vivian Huynh (Forensic Analysis of Ink on Documents using Direct Analyte-Probed Nanoextraction Coupled Techniques).

2016 - Casey Thurber (Electrodeposited Metal Matrix Composites for Enhanced Corrosion Protection and Mechanical Properties). (R&D Scientist, US Dept. Energy)

2016 - Ibrahim Coskun (Using Artificial Intelligence Applications for the Coating and Characterization of Hydroxyapatite onto Metallic Biomaterials). (Scientist, Turkey)

2018 - Ting Zhou (Electrodeposition of Molybdenum-Based Coatings from Aqueous Alkaline Solutions for Enhanced Corrsion Resisance).

2018 - Stephen Sanders (Praseodymium Oxide and Organic Modified Cerium Oxide Nanoparticles for Electrodeposition of Nickel-Ceramic Nanocomposites to Enhance Corrosion Protection and Mechanical Properties). (Brewer Science)

2019 - Waleed Yaseen (Preparing and using Hydrophobic Fluorinated Polymers for Corrosion Protection on Aluminum Substrate).

2019 - Kristin Ngan (Electrochemical Deposition of Metal Organic Modified Ceramic Nanoparticles to Improve Corrosion and Mechanical Properties).

2019 - Christopher Ozigagu (Method Development for Corrosion Testing of Carbon Steel and Ni-based Alloy Coating Exposed to Gas Hydrate Formation Environments). (Intel)

2022 - Katherine Smart (Investigations of Ionic Liquid Phases for Chromatographic Separation of Fentanyl Analogues). (Instrument Supervisor, UNT)

2022 - Darshan Karunarathne (Sulfur-Based Organic Compounds as Novel Corrosion Inhibitors for Brass and Aluminum Alloy Protection in Acid Cleaning Solutions). (Intel)

MS Students
2002 - Minhua Chen (Electrodeposition of Diamond-Like Carbon Films).

2004 - Suma Vavilala (Improvement of Homogeneity and Adhesion of Diamond-Like Carbon Films on Copper Substrates). (BD Medical Tech Company)

2004 - Yajuan Shang (Preparation and Characterization of Praseodymium Oxide Films and Powders).

2009 - Heidi Conrad (Electrochemical Deposition of Zinc-Nickel Alloys in Alkaline Solution for Increased Corrosion Resistance). (Lab Coordinator, TCU)

2012 - Cathy Molina (Incorporating Electrochemistry and X-ray Diffraction Experiments into an Undergraduate Instrumental Analysis Course). (Chemistry Instructor Collin County Community College)

2012 - Jenny Wang (Experimental Determination of L, Ostwald Solubility Solute Descriptor for Illegal Drugs by Gas Chromatograpy and Analysis by the Abraham Model).

2013 - Sabrina Akhter (Determination of Molecular Descriptors for Illegal Drugs by GC-FID using Abraham Solvation Model).

2015 - Yannick Mitheo (Determination of Solute Descriptors for Illicit Drugs using Gas Chromatographic Retention Data and Abraham Solvation Model).

2017 - Ryan Daugherty (Electrochemical Deposition of Nickel Nanocomposites in Acidic Solution for Increased Corrosion Resistance). (R&D Scientist, Brewer Sci.)

2022 - Jennifer England (An Investigation into the Micromechanical and Corrosion Properties of Additively Manufactured Stainless Steel 316L). (PhD student, UNT)

PSM Industrial Chemistry Students
2002 - Stacey Smith (Comparison Study on the Active Component xyz in the Product abc by HPLC: Intermediate Precision for Vehicle Standards).

2003 - Ben Brown (Validation of Benzalkonium Chloride in Prednisolone NaPO4
Ophthalmic Solution).

2004 - Jing Wang (Peptide/Protein Array and High Throughput Screening Technology).

2006 - David Buxton (Methods for Determining Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons/Experimental Design/Standard Water Quality Diagnostics).

2006 - Bernard Hollins (Analysis of Component x in Component z by Normal Phase High Performance Liquid Chromatography).

2006 - Kari Dickey (Pharmacopeia Methods for Determination of Ascorbic Acid and Dibasic Sodium Phosphate).

2007 - Morgan Roberts (Identification and Quantitation of the Fatty Acids in a Variety of Fish Oil Samples and a Flax Seed Oil Sample).

2010 - Loraine Dieckmann (Binding of Mercury (II) to a de nova Designed Peptide). (Assistant Professor Texas Wesleyan University)

2010 - Robin Jill Willi (Chemical Analysis of Waste Water). (Chemistry Instructor North Central Texas College)

2010 - Akash Munshi (Contamination Ions in the Semiconductor Industry).

2013 - David Baker (Determination of Strontium-90 in Water, using a Strontium Specific Extraction Chromatographic Resin).

2013 - Melissa Giguerre (Drug Profiling Databases in the US and Impurities in Methamphetamine).

2013 - Erin Futrell (Method Development for the Detection of Metals in Food and Sunscreen).

2013 - Gloria Ruiz (The Comparision of Trace DNA Recovery between Swabbing and Tape-lift for DNA Extraction Methods).

Undergraduate Students

Bottom shadow